The Lawns Indoor Bowls Club History

The Lawns Indoor Bowls Club History

The Lawns indoor Bowls Club was founded in 1992 and situated in the David Lloyd leisure club in Enfield.

This was as a direct result of Enfield Council insisting that Bowls was provided as part of the reason for leasing the ground to David Lloyd.

The Bowls overseer was local Bowls stalwart of the time, Eddie Mezan of Durants Park Bowls Club.

The club is affiliated to the English Indoor Bowling Association, Middlesex County Bowling Association and London & Southern Counties Bowling Association.

The first chairman was Ray Stracy and the 2 captains were Pat and Jim Prime. The first 2 club champions were Pat Prime and Jim Baker.

Since its inception the club had had 3 past county presidents in Eric Pelling, Mike Burn and the late David Midgely.

The clubs men and ladies have enjoyed success in both county and national competitions, notably the ladies four of Terri Watkinson, Jill Barnes, Sarah Hooper & Jan Walby who were runners up in the National Fours.

For the men, Ernie Rudston & John Sinclair reached the semi-final of the National over 60's Pairs.